Daily Archives: September 4, 2011

Summery Saturday

Look who’s here!

My friend Emily is visiting us for the weekend from DC! It’s so fun to be within reasonable driving distance of each other again! We’ve been friends for 10 years (going back to junior high) and we were always within half hour of each other until we went to college. It’s nice to be close again! We started off a lovely sunny morning at the farmer’s market.

It was a very relaxing morning. The weather right now is absolutely perfect here, but you can feel the beginning of fall in the air. I think it’s safe to say that we won’t have many more weekends like this where it’s super warm and summer outside. We were savoring the weather for sure.

Emily has had some good luck growing herbs indoors, so I decided it was time to get some of my own. At the market I picked up some mint…

some basil…

and rosemary!

After the farmers market we went came home for a bit and then went to the Cheese Shop for lunch! It’s a must whenever we have a guest in the ‘burg.

I got a roasted turkey on whole wheat with marinated tomatoes, havarti, sprouts, and house dressing. So delightful.

Enjoyed with a really nice peach beer that Emily recommended I try. Definitely a summer beer. So awesome.

Seriously, the weather could not have been more perfect.

After lunch we headed to a microbrewery a few minutes away, Williamsburg AleWorks.

They do a tasting of all their beers on tap for just $3! And that includes a nice little souvenir glass.

I learned that I DO NOT like porter. But I do enjoy a nice white ale. These are actually good things to know so that I don’t waste my money later on a beer that I won’t even like! Emily took this very lovely and dramatic photo from the backseat while we were leaving the brewery.

After the brewery we went to Trader Joe’s and a couple other places and then went back home and got started on dinner. We started with chips and guac. Tonight was the first UGA football game of the season, so I had game night food in mind.

Fresh mojitos with my new mint plant!

For dinner we had a mixed greens salad with a homemade apple cider vinaigrette and then some very delicious and very unhealthy bleu cheese burgers and homemade french fries. YUM. I was too tired to take pictures but trust me when I say it was good.

I’m pooped, it’s been quite the day! Thanks for reading!

-Lauren

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized