Daily Archives: September 5, 2011

Laboring on Labor Day

Let’s catch up. Since I actually had classes today on Labor Day (horrifying, by the way…) I haven’t been able to catch you all up on how the rest of the weekend went. Let’s get to the good stuff.

I woke up on Sunday hungry and ready to go so Jason and I worked on making our lovely house guest a good stick-to-your-ribs kind of breakfast.

Jason made pancakes (his specialty) and I whipped up a big tomato and cheese omelet for us to split.

I also browned up some kielbasa sausage and broke out some fresh strawberries.

And a few hours later, we had a fresh batch of my cinnamon rolls. Totally unnecessary but I couldn’t help it, I wanted Emily to try them!

Then us two ladies enjoyed some outlet shopping before having a lovely al fresco lunch downtown. Not too much later I got started making dinner–spaghetti and meatballs! Emily was a wonderful sous-chef to me, it would have taken a lot longer without her help! Also some wine may or may not have been enjoyed while we were cooking.

Emily took that picture! I think she fell in love with my camera a little bit. 🙂

There’s nothing quite like homemade meatballs!

And I made some buttery garlic bread using a loaf of italian from the grocery store.

It was a lovely day and a lovely weekend with a very wonderful friend. I love it when people come to visit because Jason and I spend so much time here with just the two of us. It’s fun to cook for other people too! Come back soon Emily (and Becca and KJ, if you are reading this, next time you better come too!!!)!

Thanks for reading!

-Lauren

 

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized