Daily Archives: September 9, 2011

Homemade Cereal

You know what I love, folks? Makin’ my own stuff. Seriously. There’s nothing more gratifying to me than doing something  yourself that you would usually pay someone else to do. That’s why I so enjoy making my own bread, nut butters, jams, salad dressings, etc. Even upholstering my own chairs. So ever since I saw Ashley’s post about homemade amaranth cereal, I’ve been stoked to try it. What’s amaranth you ask?

It’s a pretty plant that produces seeds that pack a real nutritional punch. It’s one of those “psuedo-grains” that can be used for things like baking and cereal, and it was a superfood of the ancient Aztecs. Amaranth is high in fiber, iron, calcium, and amino acids and is overall an awesome protein in tiny seed form. I used Ashley’s directions to pop my amaranth for cereal.

The seeds really are TINY, think couscous tiny. It’s a little tricky to toast them because they burn pretty easily, but once you get the hang of it the process literally takes like 1 minute from start to finish. Much faster than making oatmeal!

I topped my popped amaranth with some fresh raspberries…

…and a drizzle of maple agave syrup to sweeten things up a little.

The verdict? SO DELICIOUS!!! It has a wonderful toasted flavor and just the right amount of sweetness after adding the agave and eating with almond milk. I will definitely be having this again for breakfast. Which means you guys might acutally see something else on my WIAW besides oatmeal. Shocking.

Jason and I are going out to run some errands and enjoy the sun while it lasts! I think we may even be having a date night tonight. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

-Lauren

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized